Follow Playmaker on Facebook
      Ronald Koeman names his Oranje shortlist

      Netherlands name 30-man provisional squad

      2024/05/17 00:12

      Ronald Koeman and the Netherlands have named a 30-man provisional squad for this summer’s UEFA European Championships in Germany this summer. 

      The most notable surprise omission from Oranje’s squad is Bologna forward Joshua Zirkzee, who has helped Thiago Motta’s side finish in the top four and qualify for the UEFA Champions League in Serie A, albeit he has recently picked up an injury.

      Arsenal defender Jurrien Timber, who has missed pretty much the entirety of the campaign with an ACL injury, has also missed out alongside Feyenoord midfielder Mats Wieffer.

      Georginio Wijnaldum, who was recalled by Koeman during the March international break makes the 30-man list, as does Xavi Simons, who has shone on loan for both PSV and RB Leipzig from Paris Saint-Germain.

      The key area of strength for the Dutch is at the back with a plethora of strong central defensive options such as Virgil van Dijk, Matthijs de Ligt, Stefan de Vrij, Micky van de Ven, Nathan Ake and Daley Blind.

      Other experienced pro’s in the squad include Memphis Depay, who is now on 90 caps, as well as 54-cap Barcelona midfielder Frenkie de Jong and right wing-back Denzel Dumfries.

      @Getty /

      Provisional squad:

      GK | Justin Biljow (Feyenoord), Mark Flekken (Brentford), Nick Olij (Sparta Rotterdam), Bart Verbruggen (Brighton and Hove Albion)

      DEF | Nathan Ake (Manchester City), Daley Blind (Girona), Matthijs de Ligt (Bayern Munich), Stefan de Vrij (Internazionale), Denzel Dumfries (Internazionale), Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen), Lutsharel Geertruida (Feyenoord), Ian Maatsen (Borussia Dortmund), Micky van de Ven (Tottenham Hotspur), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

      MID | Frenkie de Jong (Barcelona), Marten de Roon (Atalanta), Ryan Gravenberch (Liverpool), Teun Koopmeiners (Atalanta), Tijjani Reijnders (Milan), Jerdy Schouten (PSV Eindhoven), Xavi Simons (RB Leipzig), Quinten Timber (Feyenoord), Joey Veerman (PSV Eindhoven), Georginio Wijnaldum (Al Ettifaq)

      FWD | Steven Bergwijn (Ajax), Brian Brobbey (Ajax), Memphis Depay (Atletico Madrid), Cody Gakpo (Liverpool), Donyell Malen (Borussia Dortmund), Wout Weghorst (1899 Hoffenheim)


      Would you like to comment? Just register!!
      2024-05-17 01h10m by sjacksons_9_2_1
      As a football fan, I'm disappointed to see Joshua Zirkzee left out of the Netherlands' provisional squad for the Euros. He's been in great form for Bologna and deserves a spot. It's also great to see Jurrien Timber and Mats Wieffer back from injury. Excited to see how Xavi Simons performs on the big stage too!
      2024-05-17 00h48m by eedwards
      Wow, big surprise to see Zirkzee not make the cut for Netherlands' Euro squad. He's been impressive for Bologna this season. Disappointing for Timber and Wieffer as well. Glad to see Wijnaldum and Simons included though.


      nlawson12 20-06-2024, 00:00
      gkingsley 19-06-2024, 23:40
      hturnerford 19-06-2024, 23:34
      sjacksons_9_2_1 19-06-2024, 23:06
      lhalliday_bart 19-06-2024, 21:33
      nlawson12 19-06-2024, 21:24
      banderson1976 19-06-2024, 21:17
      a_12_shawcross 19-06-2024, 20:40
      eyoungs8 19-06-2024, 20:38
      nlawson12 19-06-2024, 20:24
      jgibsonson 19-06-2024, 20:06
      dnelsons 19-06-2024, 19:48
      awalkerson7 19-06-2024, 19:43
      sparkerfield 19-06-2024, 19:41
      omitchellsonjones 19-06-2024, 19:24
      nlawson12 19-06-2024, 19:19